Final is a match too far as Brig men fall 
just short

Brirhouse Sports bowls club
Brirhouse Sports bowls club

Brighouse Sports BC’s A team were defeated 226-185 in their BCGA Yorkshire Cup final against rivals Lower Hopton at a packed Cleckheaton Bowling Club on Bank Holiday Sunday.

Brighouse were five-up after the first four games and then the Mirfield and district club took over with their county bowlers coming to the fore.

Graeme Wilson had got Lower Hopton off to a good start with a 21-15 win over Nigel Bloomer and Ian Booth had defeated Robin Whitfield but former Yorkshire skipper Ronnie Wormald hit back for Brighouse when he beat current county player Harry Seehra 21-9.

Another veteran, Tony Riley, saw off Clive Newton 21-19 before Lower Hopton turned the tables once more and then started to pull away.

Scorecard (lower Hopton first name): G Wilson 21, N Bloomer 15; I Booth 21, R Whitfield 18; H Seehra 9, R Wormald 21; C Newton 19, A Riley 21; W Ditchfield 21, D Stansfield 9; C Brown 21, M Reagan 6; P Ingleby 21, P Smyth 12; G Hirst 21, M Mc Gorlick 20; R Hitchen 13, R Hobson 21; G Higgins 21, H Kettlewell 14; J Abdy 21, S Foster 7; A Tattersley 17 P Clark 21.

Gary Ellis (Whitefield) and Ashley Tattersley (Lower Hopton) were the latest qualifiers in the £5,300 Brighouse Classic last Friday evening.

Ellis defeated David Watters and Scott Tattersley before beating Lee Johnstone (Warrington) 21-14 in the third round whilst Tattersley beat Paul Clark and David Jackson before leaving Joel Abdy (Lower Hopton) on 11.

The qualifying continues this Friday evening at Brighouse Sports BC, Russell Way with Greg Smith (West Bromwich) in action against Chris Barton (New Brighton).

Full draw (6.30pm): Chris Kelly (Sheffield) v John McDonnell (Audenshaw), Greg Smith (West Bromwich) v Chris Barton (New Brighton), Paul Rooks (Eccleshill) v Roger Crowther (Huddersfield), Michael Sweeney (Huddersfield) v Bryan Harrison (Clayton), John Hanson (Chipping) v Owen Doyle (New Brighton), Elliott McGuiness (West Bromwich) v David Hodgson (Harrogate), Ryan Clarke (Sheffield) v Jamie Boxx (New Brighton), Graham Hirst (Mirfield) v Nicky Bastow (Eccleshill).

Latest results from week six of the Rastrick Classic at Rastrick Bowling and Social Club:

Round One: Mark Hughes (Crossgates) 21, Stephen Glover (Liverpool) 13; Nigel Cranston (Crossgates) 12, Ashley Daykin (Netherton) 21; Chris Mordue (Pudsey BC) 21, Danny Radcliffe (Bradley & Colne) 9; Gareth Lally (Crossgates) 21, Martin Gaut (Telford) 6; Joe Cranston (Crossgates) 11, Neil Simpson (Shipley) 21; Ira Jeffers (Crossgates) 21, Jack Dyson (Netherton) 19; Josh Mordue (Pudsey BC) 10,Tommy Johnstone (Poynton) 21; Gordon Niven (Prestwich) 9, Terry Glover (Liverpool) 21.

Round Two: Hughes 4, Daykin 21;Chis Mordue 15,Lally 21; Simpson 8, Jeffers 21; Johnstone 12, Glover 21.

Qualifiers: Daykin 13, Lally 21; Jeffers 21, Glover 19.

Lally drew ball 11 and Jeffers ball 14 for finals night on Sunday, September 20.

Draw for Sunday, September 6 (5.30pm start):

Chris Slater (Colwyn Bay RBL) v Dave Penketh (Warrington), Ryan Clarke (Thongsbridge) v Lee Heaton (Preston), Kev Wainwright (Warrington) v Andy Cairns (Rosendale), Mark Ferris (Congleton Railway) v Graeme Wilson (Audenshaw), Kevan Shaw (Westhoughton S&S) v Carl Upton (Barnsley), Dave McDermott (Merseyside) v Paul Leah (Ashton U Lyme), Lee Johnstone (Warrington) v Graham Hunt (North Wales), Brian Lee (Alverthorpe) v Chris Kelly (Thongsbridge).