Double celebration for Rastrick after title is bolstered by 2nd XI promotion success

Rastrick 1st XI were officially crowned as Cedar Court Conference Champions, receiving the trophy before their home game against Hall Bower.

The winners medals were presented to the players after the match with one of the medals being presented to club stalwart Raymond Roebuck, who was a 19-year-old member of the last Rastrick title-winning side in the 1961 season.

To cap the best-ever season for the club, a victory at Linthwaite confirmed the 2nd XI as runners up and they will also be promoted to the Championship Section.

“We have a young squad who are improving as cricketers, giving us an excellent platform to build on. There will be additions to strengthen the squad during and we will be in a position to challenge for honours again next season. The aim is to build on the fantastic momentum to establish the club as a major force over the next couple of years,” said club chairman Paul Shaw.

“The support from our members and sponsors throughout the season has been overwhelming and we plan to celebrate our success over the next few weeks, whilst we finalise our plans for 2016.”

After the presentation, the 1st XI lost the toss and were asked to bat by the visitors. The home team got off to a flying start, with overseas star Mitchell McCoach making 39.

Agood partnership between Bradley Birkhead (57) and Alex Rowles (58) put Rastrick in a commanding position, but the lower middle order failed to build on a promosing start and they were all out for 227.

Hall Bower got off to a good start as Rastrick struggled to take early wickets before a fine second spell from Jordan Ghani (5-47) gave the Roundhill men victory and signed off their last game in front of their home supporters with six points.

n The 2nd XI travelled to Linthwaite where they had no hesitation in sticking the home side into bat.

It looked to have backfired when Linthwaite had 
82-2 after 12 overs, but a fine spell of bowling from Mark Knight (4-33) put Rastrick back in the boxseat, dismissing their hosts for 135.

The run chase got off to a good start and had reached 40 before Gary Nicholson fell for 21. The good work continued before Farlow was out for 39. Glenn Handley saw Rastrick home with 27 not out.

Then it was a case of waiting for the results to come in when it was confirmed Denby Dale beat Birkby Rose Hill and Rastrick were promoted in second place.