President’s Day titles fought out as Classic qualifiers start

editorial image

Last Saturday crown green bowls supporters and players spent the day enjoying both good weather and good bowling in the 2013 President’s Day at Rastrick Bowling and Social Club. Eventual winners were: Ladies’ section – Joanne Marsden who beat Claire Broadbent and Men’s section Nigel Bloomer beat David Wood.

It was the start of the now well-established Rastrick Classic at Rastrick Bowling and Social Club on Sunday evening.

Round One: Gary Siswick (Crossland Moor) 21, Andy Mailer (Bradfield BC Sheffield) 10; Jimmy Davison (Eccleshill) 21, Richard Jackson (Thongsbridge) 10; Robbie Fitzpatrick (Morton House) 21, Jon Marshall (Chesterfield) 20; Danny Teale (Bradley & Colne) 8, Chris Mordue (Pudsey BC) 21; Brian Hill (Chesterfield) 21, Matt Beaver (Bradfield BC Sheffield) 20; Josh Mordue (Brighouse) 21, Andrew Davison (Eccleshill) 14; Gary Foulkes (Ossett Flying Horse) 21, Mark Bramall (Mirfield Old Bank) 20; Rob Wiltshire (Netherton Con) 11, Liam Griffin (Pudsey BC) 21.

Round Two:.Siswick 6,.Davison 21; Fitzpatrick 21, C.Mordue 17; Hill 18, J.Mordue 21; Foulkes 21, Griffin 16.

Qualifying Round: .Davison 21, Fitzpatrick 16; J.Mordue 21, Foulkes 18.

Week Two - Sunday, August 4 5.30 start, practice from 4.30: Craig Podmore (Potteries) v Danny Radcliffe (Bradley & Colne), Graeme Wilson (Lower Hopton) v Andrew Marshall (Shrewsbury), Eddie Haigh (Lockwood Con) v James Martin (Canalside), Paul Jacques (Pudsey Littlemoor) v Matt Gilmore (Merseyside), Nigel Roper (Pudsey Littlemoor) v Ross Mallinson (Crossland Moor), Anthony Thompson (Merseyside) v Richard Bentley (Cleckheaton Sports), Lee Brown (Potteries) v Adam Douglas (Canalside), Chris Firth (Crossgates) v Wayne Jevons (Kings 2000 Merseyside).

Qualifying continues on Friday at Brighouse Sports Club BC in the £5,300 Brighouse Classic sponsored by Naylor Wintersgill (Chartered Accountants) as previous winner Simon Coupe (Preston) heads a quality field.

Wayne Ditchfield (Eccleston) takes on Andy Ferris (Leek) and Lower Hopton star Chris Brown plays Peter Cark (Skipton) in other first round ties.

Last week’s qualifiers were Nick White (Sheffield) who beat Mark Hughes (Leeds) 21-18 and Jon Wilcox (Leeds) who defeated Richard Jackson (Sheffield) 21-10.

Full draw, Friday 6.30pm start Jack Hargreaves (Hyde) v Matt Beever (Sheffield), Owen Jackson (Preston) v Scott Woodward (Sheffield), Andy Ferris (Leek) v Wayne Ditchfield (Eccleston), David Hallam (Sheffield) v Ian Booth (Halifax), Andy Mailer (Sheffield) v Stuart Mort (Wigan), Simon Coupe (Preston) v Jon Copeland (Chadderton), Chris Brown (Lower Hopton) v Peter Clark (Skipton), Richard Howson (Sheffield) v John Kennish (Isle of Man).