Locals gather for their night in the prize spotlight

Brighouse Swimming Club held their 2013 presentation evening at Rastrick Bowling and Social Club and gave the members a great start to the festive season to boot, writes Charlotte Henbest.

Saturday, 14th December 2013, 8:30 am

There were plenty of awards to give out and after the presentation the children and indeed adults tucked in to a marvellous buffet before hitting the dance floor.

The evening was tinged with a little sadness as they said goodbye to Ann Trolland who has dedicated nearly 12 years of service to the club.

She stuck with the club while they were homeless and went between Fartown High School and Elland Swiming baths and has covered every role from receptionist to pool side observer.

Unfortunately, Ann has had to stand down due to work commitments and she will be sorely missed.

To show their appreciation for all her hard work over the years she was presented with gifts including flowers and chocolates from head coach Ivor Clayton and coach Brian Smart.

List of winners, Taylors Hairdressers Mens 400yds Freestyle, Harrison Edwards; Keir Memorial Trophy Mens 4 x 50 Ind Medley, Matthew Knapton; Challenge Cup Mens 100yds Freestyle, Martin Squire; Thomas Thorburn Trophy Mends 100yds Backstroke, Matthew Knapton; Roger Kilner Trophy Mens 100yds Butterfly, Matthew Knapton; 1961 Cup Mens 100yds Breaststroke, Adrian Firth; Steven Vickers Trophy Boys 13/14 100 yds Breastroke, William Squire; Sunnyvale Trophy Boys 11/12 100 yds Freestyle Benjamin Bottomley; Scout Cup Boys 12 & Under 100 yds Freestyle Benjamin Bottomley; Boys Cup Boys 10 & Under 50 yds Freestyle Edward Vickers; Taylors Hairdressers Ladies 400 ydsFreestyle Melissa Knapton; Brighouse Ladies Shield Ladies 4 x 50 Ind Medley, Lauren Green; Roger Kilner Trophy Ladies 100yds Butterfly, Lauren Green; Castle Cup Junior Ladies 4 x 50 I/Medley, Amy Donovan; Mary Brook Cup Junior Ladies 100 yds Freestyle, Amelia Clough; Graham Coates Memorial Junior Ladies 100 yds Back Stroke, Amy Donovan; Ina Dale Shield Junior Ladies 100 yds Butterfly Amy Donovan; Geoff Crowther Memorial Junior Ladies 100 yds Breaststroke, Amy Donovan; Joyce Robinson Cup Girls 13/14 100 ydsw Breaststroke Melissa Knapton; Delorme Trophy Girls 11/12 100 yds Freestyle, Heather Squire; Sarah Haslem Shield Girls 11/12 100 yds Backstroke, Imogen Gee; Stansfield Shield Girls 11/12 100yds Breastsroke, Lauren Martin; Haigh Trophy Girls 12 & Under 100 yds Freestyle, Imogen Gee; Freschen Shield Girls 10 & Under 50 yds Freestyle, Eleanor Harland

As well as all the awards for races there were also prizes from the coaches for outstanding achievements going to, Saoirse Duffin, Matthew Raine, Daniel Rennie, Martha Tikadar, Ryan Brunkard, Millie Haman, Alice O’Kane, Jack Haystead, Natasha Hofford and Matilda Fitt.