Games league awards draw packed house

STEVE McGurk, president of the Brighouse and District Indoor Games League presided over the annual prize and presentation evening at a packed out Thornhill Briggs WMC.

He introduced chief guest Arnie Hema, the local rugby league personality and special constable, and Sharon Suttle, daughter of the late games league player and personality Les.

She presented the Les Suttle Memorial Cup to winners Blake C and captain Tim Lewis, with runners-up Thornhill Briggs and captain Len Parker.

The rest of the season’s results were - Single dominoes: winners, Rock Tavern (captain Robert Smith); runners-up, Sun Inn (captain Mark Simpson).

Pairs Dominoes: winners, Blakes B (captain Paul French); runners-up, The Globe (captain Lynne Young).

Fives and threes dominoes: winners, Blakes D (captain Karen McGurk); runners-up, Sun Inn (captain Mark Simpson).

All Fours: winners, Rock Tavern (captain Robert Smith); runners-up, Robin Hood (captain Sandra Bottomley).

Canvermore Shield: winners: Sun Inn (captain Mark Simpson); runners-up Rock Tavern (captain Robert Smith).

Averages - single dominoes: winner, Peter Warrington (Blakes C); runner-up, Sohail Rasool (Rock Tavern).

Pairs dominoes: winner, Sam Coulter (Sun Inn); runner-up, Hugh McGeady (Blakes A).

Fives and threes: winner, Martin Brenchley (Thornhill Briggs WMC); runner-up, Dale Dyson (Blakes D).

All Fours: winner, Brian Little (Rock Tavern); runner-up, Phil Hiley (Rock Tavern).

Knockout Competitions - single dominoes: winner, Paul Clarke (Sun Inn); runner-up Phil Hiley).

Pairs dominoes: winners, Danny Drennan and Tim Lewis (Blakes C); runners-up, David Bottomley and Henry Nixon (Robin Hood).

Fivess and threes dominoes: winners, Brian Little and Sohail Rasool (Rock Tavern), runners-up Harry Broomhead and Paul Fenton (Robin Hood).

All Fours: winners, Neil McFarlane and Melvyn Priestley (The Globe); runners-up, Malcolm Barraclough and Mark Simpson (Sun Inn).

The Jack Berry Trophy: winners, Rock Tavern (captain Robert Smith); runners-up Blakes A (captain Robert Smith).

There was a special mention for three young players who have emerged this season, namely Joe Atkinson, Donna Wring and Kelly Dyson.

They all got to the semi-final stages of a knockout competition while Kelly made it to three of the four semis.

The League’s annual meeting will be on Monday, July 11 at at Robin Hood (8pm).