Wyke claim inaugural trophy

Youngsters who took part in the Under 10s three team tournament at Brighouse
Youngsters who took part in the Under 10s three team tournament at Brighouse

Brighouse Juniors, AFC Halifax and Wyke Wanderers came together for the first Under 10s three team Tournament sponsored by The Great Wall Chinese restaurant in Brighouse.

The end result saw Wyke lift the trophy after two convincing wins.

The first game between AFC Halifax and Wyke was action packed with both teams passing the ball well. It was Wyke who took control however, running out 4-1 winners.

After a short break Wyke came up againt hosts Brighouse. This turned out to be a very competitive match with Wyke taking a 2-0 lead into the break. A change of formation at half time payed off for Brighouse as they pulled a goal back before a spectacular overhead kick from Wyke’s Freddie Downes nestled in the top corner of the Brighouse net to put the game to bed.

The third game between AFC Halifax and Brighouse saw the latters determination put them 1-0 up midway through the first half.

However, AFC Halifax refused to lie down and finished the game 2-1 winners.

Wyke: Harris Cunningham, Reece Clay, Stan Cahill, Jack Morris, Jacob Smith, Matthew Leaper, Kieran, McGuire, Freddie Downes

AFC Halifax: Oliver Rutherford, Cole Hand, Lewis Blackburn, William Booth, Oliver Davis, Keiran Gibbs, Nathan Smyth, Ben Murray

Brighouse: Bradley Atkinson, Ethan Roberts, Ethan Wroot, Joshua Heavyside, Joshua Wood, Jack Green, Jack Taylor, Samuel Brearley