Brighouse climb to the top of the tree after deserved victory at Droylsden

BRIGHOUSE Town went top of the Evo-Stik NPL Division One North with their sixth win in seven league games in a pulsating contest.

The scoreline could have had more daylight but for Brighouse spurning some good chances. However, Town’s manager Paul Quinn was a happy man after the final whistle.

“I was pleased with the professionalism and clinical edge we showed. Every win away from home is a big three points and I thought we fully deserved the victory. We nullified any threat from Droylsden and all 14 players played their part.

“Everybody came through unscathed which is good at this stage of the season where the league and cup games are coming thick and fast.”

Town were a goal up after just two minutes as defenders Josh Heaton and Shaquille Antoine Clarke made a mess of a pass back and Luke Parkin nipped in to curl the ball around James Coates.

After Droylsden’s Liam Caddick was only booked for a two-footed tackle on Tom Haigh. the Manchester side were level when Sam Hewitt directed a corner into his own net.

Town were bossing the show with Ryan Watson, Daniel Bunch and Leon Osborne pushing forward and Parkin causing problems in possession.

James Pollard, Pearson, Dan Illingworth and Hewitt were coping with the odd Droylsden foray into their half when they had broken through the midfield of Ben Atkinson and Haigh.

The home side’s frustration surfaced in the 26th minute when Heaton was booked and then five minutes later Danny Grimshaw was yellow carded. Town cranked up a gear looking for a goal before the break and Tom Haigh fired well over before Daniel Bunch hit the crossbar and Leon Osborne fired just wide to leave it 1-1 at the break.

Leon Osbourne broke down the right in the 62nd minute and, from his cross, Parkin bagged his second.

Osborne played in Frost with the goal gaping but lost his balance and the ball ballooned wide.

Droylsden: Coates, S.Clarke, Grimshaw (McDonagh) Hampson, Heaton, Roddy (Rudge), Caddick (Samuels), Rouse, Farrell, Lewis, Hasler-Cregg. Subs unused: Cesaire, P. Clarke.

Brighouse Town: Taylor, Pollard, Pearson, Illingworth, Hewitt, Atkinson, Bunch (Frost), Haigh (Field), Osborne, Watson, Parkin (Low). Subs unused: Hall, Robinson.