Lightcliffe gather to celebrate their summer season to savour

There wasn’t a spare seat in Lightcliffe GC’s clubhouse when Lightcliffe CC once again celebrated a superb season, writes Dave Parker.

Saturday, 26th October 2013, 9:00 am

Chairman Steve Hartley and president John Brooke presided over the evening which saw them joined by their three winning Priestley Cup captains, Louis Pickles, who also played for Somerset, Peter Westerby and current skipper Chris Taylor.

Also there to enjoy the evening was Alex Lees, the Yorkshire and recently selected England Lions opening batsman who played with Lightcliffe in the 2012 season.

Tributes were paid throughout the evening to groundsman Rod Heyhoe who also received a framed picture of himself with skipper Taylor from the former Yorkshire and Derbyshire batsman.

Chairman Hartley summed up the season across the three senior teams and the ladies side of which he is coach, and reference to the superb junior section that is continuing to thrive at the club.

The chairman remembered with his guests the passing of club stalwart Robert Brooke in the past season and he also congratulated Halifax-born Lees on his great season for Yorkshire and his selection for the Lions, and also praised the contribution of Charlie Roebuck who is on the threshold of a county career with the Tykes.

There was also praise all round for long serving Brooke’s feat over 1,000 runs in a season and only the second batsman ever in the Bradford League’s Division One for second teams.

1stX1 awards: batting: Chris Taylor, bowling: Suleman Khan, fielding: Mark Horne. 2ndX1 batting: Michael Brooke, bowling: Chris Hester, fielding: Regan Broadbent. 3rdX1batting: Bruce Lunn, bowling: Mark Whiley, fielding: Jake Broadbent. Women’s X1 batting: Angela Monaghan, bowling: Alice Hartley and fielding: Ellis Lil.

The prestigious Robert Firth Trophy went to young batsman Oliver Robinson who scored a memorable 99 not out in the Priestley Cup quarter-final against Woodlands.

The Stead family, dad Roger, his wife Linda, son Alex and daughter Charlotte, who is married to Chris Taylor, won The George Bottomley Chairman’s Cup for their continued commitment to Lightcliffe Cricket Club.

Double winners Lightcliffe went close to a clean sweep of the individual prizes in Division One of the Foster Halifax League’s Sunday Section.

They had the top batsman in Bruce Lunn (470 runs at 47.0) and the leading bowler in Mark Whiley (23 wickets at 8.65).

Kevin Booth has won the wicketkeeping award with 10 victims, six of them stumped, and the only prize which has eluded the Wakefield Road club is the fielding, which has gone to Blackley’s Bradley Andrews with four a half marks.

The junior prizes were as follows: U11 batting Henry Smith, bowling Joshua Booth, fielding Declan Raistrick, all rounder Owen Thomas. U13A batting Joshua Booth, bowling Daanyaal Ahmed, fielding Jake Broadbent, all rounder Joshua Stringer. U13B batting Kieran Collins, bowling Shoaib Hussain, fielding Kieran Collins, all rounder Arbaz Rasool. U15 batting Jake Broadbent, bowling Daanyaal Ahmed, fielding Jake Broadbent, all rounder Josua Stringer. U-17 batting Liam Collins, bowling Daanyaal Ahmed, fielding Matthew Sumpner, all rounder Regan Broadbent. ProCoach Junior Player of the season Jake Broadbent.