Cricket club toasts fine season

Lightcliffe Cricket Club awards
Lightcliffe Cricket Club awards

LIGHTCLIFFE Cricket Club toasted a successful season at their prize presentation dinner at Lightcliffe Golf Club last Friday.

Over 80 people packed in to enjoy a hearty three course meal and soak up the atmosphere.

It has been a fine season for the club, with the first team promoted as champions, the third team winning the cup, and the under 17s scooping a league and cup double.

Chairman Steve Hartley addressed the guests and outlined what an excellent season the club had enjoyed, and how they were looking to build on it next year.

Award winners were:- 1st team batting, Chris Taylor; bowling, Chris Greenwood; fielding, Jacob Waterson.

Second team batting, Michael Brooke; bowling, Roger Stead; fielding, Gareth Stephens.

Third team batting, Mick Wood; bowling, Mark Whiley

Angela Monaghan scooped the women’s team batting prize, while Fiona Ellwood was the bowling winner.

Other awards presented included the Chairman’s award, which deservedly went to the popular Richard Thompson; the inaugural Robert Firth Memorial Trophy, presented to the outstanding individual performance of the year, to Evan Edwards and Seraj Hussain for their partnership of a 100 to turn a lost cause into a winning one.

The Chris Taylor Director of Cricket Award went to Jocky Wilson for the leadership he had shown over the summer months.

As always the alternative awards were enjoyed by all, and winners were Tom Powe, David Knight (a drill and a pipe), Roger Stead (Zimmer frame), Ricardo Edwards, Angela Maughan and Evan Edwards.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Mark Horne went home with money in his back pocket after netting the ‘stand up sit down’ bingo and former chairman John Brooke paid tribute to James Horne, who is leaving after three decades of service.

He was presented with a frame of photos charting his LCC career.