Voting: All you need to know

POLLING stations will be open for 15 hours between 7am and 10pm next Thursday for people planning to vote in the forthcoming election.

Voters should have received a card with details of their local polling station on it if not call the Electoral Office on 01422 393103.

When voting at a polling station, it’s recommended that you take your poll card with you.

Polling station staff will give you ballot papers for the local elections up until 10pm.

If you have applied for a postal vote, it needs to be received by the Returning Officer by 10pm on May 5. If you have left it too late to post back, you can drop it off at the polling station or at the Town Hall, Halifax.

The votes will be counted on Friday at North Bridge Leisure Centre, Halifax, at 1.30pm and at 4pm the count will begin of the referendum votes cast in Calderdale.

It is expected that this will be concluded by 6pm.

Polling stations in the Brighouse area: Whinney Hill Community Centre, Brighouse; Waring Green Community Centre; St Chad’s CE Primary School, Hove Edge; Clifton Methodist Church; Brighouse Adult Education Centre; Christ Church Centre, Lightcliffe; Christ Church, Hipperholme; Norwood Green village hall; St Matthew’s Church, Lightcliffe; Ebenezer Methodist Church, Bailiff Bridge.

Carr Green Primary School, Rastrick; Woodhouse Primary School, Brighouse; Brighouse Youth Centre; Longroyde Junior School, Rastrick; Field Lane Community Centre, Rastrick; Withinfields Primary School, Southowram.

Wainwright Hall, Elland; Southgate Methodist Sunday School, Elland; All Saints Church, Elland; Old Earth Primary School, Elland; Cedar Court Hotel, Ainley Top; Northowram Methodist Church; Cross Lane Primary School, Elland.