The candidates seeking your vote in Calderdale Council poll

VOTERS across Calderdale will be heading to the polling stations next Thursday to chose who they want to represent them over the next four years.

The polling stations will be open between 7am and 10pm for people planning to vote in Calderdale Council’s election.

In the Brighouse ward Howard Blagbrough will be hoping to retain his seat while beating off competition from both Labour’s Ann Martin and Liberal Democrat Jennie Rigg.

While in the Rastrick area Tory councillor, Ann McAllister, will be hoping to defend her seat against Labour’s Peter Judge who came close last year and newcomer Rob Bailey for TUSAC.

It is a four horse race in Hipperholme and Lightcliffe with Graham Hall for the Conservatives, veteran Chris O’Connor as an independent, Anthony Rutherford for Labour and Mat Bowles for the Liberal Democrats.

Candidates for Elland are: Pat Allen (Lib Dem); Angi Gallagher (Lab); Mike Payne (Con); Susan Thomas (Green).

Contesting Town are: Megan Swift (Lab); Stephen Collins (Con); Ruth Coleman-Taylor (Lib Dem).

In Northowram/Shelf are: Peter Caffrey (Con); Kenneth Goren (Lib Dem) Gary Walsh (Lab).