Road safety group looks to be . . . safe

A SHAKE-UP in Calderdale Council’s road safety department means the Brighouse group will have to be be re-formed.

Brighouse Road Safety Committee has been told by council officers that, due to Government spending cuts, the department has decided to review all the groups in the borough.

Chairman Ann Rutherford said they had been told in the future they will only cover the Brighouse area which includes Hipperholme and Lightcliffe and Rastrick, but not Southowram. “They are also wanting us to dissolve the road safety committee and re-elect members which is what we have always done.”

Apart from a name change and a new constitution being added the road safety committee will continue to operate as it did.

“Brighouse Road Safety committee has been in existence for the last 70 years to my knowledge and I don’t see why we should have to change our name when we are covering the same area,” she told members.

Councillor Howard Blagbrough asked if the change would mean the committee could apply for more funding and what the committee planned to do to encourage more people to join the group.

Mrs Rutherford said their meetings were some of the only ones which were open to the public and anyone was entitled to attend with their concerns.

“We were asked if we attended the partners and communities together meetings with the police and the area forums but we already do. They are even considering adding the road safety to the agenda of the ward forums so people can approach us.

“We are the most active road safety committee they have got. We attend Brighouse Gala, the light switch-on and have our own campaign against drinking and driving at Christmas” she said.

Members are also intending to take the committee to the 21st century by setting up its own website which will be designed and managed by member Adrian Hartshorn.

Anyone who has a strong interest in road safety throughout the area or has a particular problem with a road safety issue can attend the meetings.

The next one will be held on October 3 at the Assembly Rooms in Briggate, Brighouse, from 7pm.