Ward candidates announced

editorial image

Councillors across the Brighouse area have signalled their intention to stand for re-election in the local elections in May.

The Conservatives currently hold the three council seats set to be contested in the Brighouse area and local Party members have re-selected Couns Scott Benton (Brighouse), Chris Pillai (Rastrick) and David Kirton (Hipperholme and Lightcliffe) to stand once again.

“We are delighted that we have been re-selected to stand again,” said Coun Kirton. “Although we all represent different wards, we work closely together throughout the year to ensure that the interests of residents in the wider Brighouse area are protected.”

Coun Benton said: “If re-elected, our main priority will be to continue to work together as a team to ensure that Brighouse gets a fair deal and that our area continues to have a strong voice within the council.”