Challengers have eye on three seats

Halifax Town Hall
Halifax Town Hall

Fifteen candidates are battling to win your votes in the Brighouse area at next month’s Calderdale Council elections.

One seat in each of the Brighouse, Rastrick, and Hipperholme and Lightcliffe wards are up for grabs when voters go to the polls on May 7.

All three of the seats are currently held by the Conservatives and the sitting councillors are standing for re-election.

Coun Scott Benton faces competition from five other candidates in the Brighouse ward.

Four candidates are challenging Coun Chris Pillai in Rastrick.

And Coun David Kirton faces a four-way battle in the Hipperholme and Lightcliffe ward.

Across Calderdale, 82 candidates are standing for election to the council in the 17 wards.

Among the most hotly contested seats are Brighouse, Calder, Illingworth and Mixenden, and Todmorden, which will all see six candidates standing in each ward.

Two wards - Greetland and Stainland, and Luddenden Foot - are guaranteed to see new councillors elected as the sitting members of the council are standing down at next month’s elections.

The council is currently run by the Conservatives with support from the Liberal Democrats.

But Labour is the largest group and is looking to gain an overall majority at next month’s elections to give it control of the council.

The council currently consists of 25 Labour councillors, 19 Conservative, six Liberal Democrats and one Independent.

Candidates are aiming to win seats in the council chamber at Halifax Town Hall at next month’s elections

Meet the candidates


Scott Benton* (Conservative)

John Nesbitt (Green)

Jennie Rigg (Lib Dem)

Anthony Rutherford (Labour)

Samuel Webb (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition)

Nick Yates (UKIP)

Hipperholme and Lightcliffe

Kashif Ali (Labour)

Christine Bampton-Smith (Lib Dem)

David Kirton* (Conservative)

Alan McDonald (Green)


Robert Bailey (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)

Kathy Haigh-Hutchinson (Lib Dem)

Peter Judge (Labour)

Mark Mullany (Green)

Chris Pillai* (Conservative)

* denotes sitting councillor