Ann honoured to be serving Calderdale

New mayor of Calderdale, Ann Martin, at mayor making ceremony, Halifax Town Hall.
New mayor of Calderdale, Ann Martin, at mayor making ceremony, Halifax Town Hall.

The new Mayor of Calderdale officially took up office this week and will have have a hard act to follow.

Ann Martin, Labour councillor for Brighouse, will take over the role from John Hardy (Con, Skircoat)

Councillor Martin said: “It is a privilege and an honour to be mayor. I am particularly looking forward to chairing the council meetings.”

Her consort will be Mohammed Naeem and her charities are Calder Valley Search and Rescue, Elland Silver Band and the Heath Stroke Club.

She was officially appointed at the Annual Council Meeting at Halifax Town Hall yesterday, Wednesday, May 15.

After eight years away from the council Coun Martin was voted back into her seat in Brighouse in 2012 overturning Conservative candidate Howard Blagbrough who won the seat in 2008.

She has sat on the council’s Standards Committee, Economy and Environment Scrutiny Panel and the Markets Working Party as well as being an active member of the Brighouse community.

Away from the council she is part of the Brighouse War Memorial (Nurses Endowment Fund), the Twin Links Committee and the Waring Green Community Asscociation Management Committee.

The grand occasion was attended by the great and the good of Calderdale for an afternoon of pomp and circumstance.

Councillor Lisa Lambert will be Deputy Mayor of Calderdale and her consort will be her father Ken.

Following the breakdown of Calderdale Council’s Lab/Lib coalition Labour leader Tim Swift was voted in as leader of the council with Barry Collins (Lab, Illingworth and Mixenden) as deputy leader.

The rest of the cabinet is made up of Labour members with positions on Scrutiny Panels divided between Conservative, Liberal Democrat and Independent councillors equivalent to the number of seats in the council.

Labour has 21 councillors equating to 28 seats on panels and committees, Conservative have 17 councillors equating to 23 seats, Liberal Democrats have 11 councillors giving them 15 seats and the two Independent councillors will share three seats.