Students reap their rewards at ceremony

editorial image

Hard working students were recognised at Rastrick High School and Sixth Form College’s presentation evening.

Hosted by head teacher Steve Evans, the hall was filled to capacity to celebrate another highly successful year.

A-level and GCSE students returned from universities, colleges and employment to celebrate their success and receive their certificates and prizes.

Mr Evans said: “This special occasion highlights the school’s stunning academic successes of the past academic year. It’s great to see so many students receiving awards for not just their superb academic achievements, but their dedication to improving the school as a whole; through supporting their fellow students and members of the local community.”

Guest speaker Bonita Norris gave an inspirational and motivating talk about her amazing achievement at becoming the youngest woman to climb Everest aged just 22.

Marian Eastwood, President of the Rotary Club of Brighouse, joined other special guests on the night to present prizes on the club’s behalf.

GCSE high achiever and sixth from student, Kate Pritchard, received the Prize for Outstanding Effort, Rebecca Morris’ success at the National Poetry Awards was recognised with the Special Achievement Award, and Will Parkin scooped the Outdoor Pursuits Award.

Paul Shaw represented the Rastrick Grammar School Foundation by presenting the Prize for Commitment and Endeavour to Olenka Heppleston, who returned from university where she is studying law and business.

Chairman of Governors Duncan Brundell awarded Andrew Ball the Prize for Service to the School for outstanding achievement, effort and contribution to school life, particularly through school sport.

The David Wilby Prize, which commemorates the link with the school and the Old Rastrickian Association, recognises contributions to the extra-curricular life of the school. It was awarded to Amy Plowman.

The George Aldersley Cup for Achievement in Sport was awarded to Bradley Birkhead and The Clay Memorial Prize for Academic Achievement was presented to Dennis Rimmer