Pupils walk away with an array of trophies at awards

editorial image

Students from William Henry Smith School walked away with an array of trophies at the Engage in their Future awards.

The Rastrick school was awarded the bronze award for team of the year with their Student Voice, the silver award for Innovation and Creativity went to their Learning Group Hockey, pupil Jayden Thorpe won the bronze for outstanding personal progress and the outstanding contribution to the community was awarded to Josh Simpson who got the gold award.

The awards is in its third year and celebrates the achievements of students be it as individuals, team or as a school.

Engage in their future is a charitable organisation that seeks to improve services for children with Behavioural, Emotional and Social Difficulties (BESD) and was formed to enable Head Teachers working within BESD education to address and influence issues affecting this sector locally, regionally and nationally.

The 2013 National Awards saw the highest number of nominations yet. The Chair of the Judging Panel said: “It was an honour for us to be asked to judge this year’s National Awards. The quality of the nominations was outstanding and this has made our job very difficult. To see the achievements and personal development of all of the children makes us proud to be associated with this organisation. It is clear from the evidence submitted that what the children have achieved has been through sheer determination and hard work.”