Explorers earn their bronze Duke awards

Pupils from Hipperholme Grammar School earn their bronze Duke of Edinburgh awards.
Pupils from Hipperholme Grammar School earn their bronze Duke of Edinburgh awards.

Young adventurers have been getting to grips with great outdoors as part of the Duke of Edinburgh award scheme.

Students from Hipperholme Grammar School took part in their training with day walks in a variety of areas such as the Yorkshire Dales, Peak District and East Lancashire.

The walks build on the skills required for successful expeditions such as cooking, navigation and teamwork.

The scheme is led by head of geography Mr Richard Griffiths, who said: “The success of the Duke of Edinburgh scheme at the school is attributable to the high percentage of pupils who take up the award and the enthusiasm of staff who help with its smooth running.

“We believe education is not just aimed at achieving outstanding academic results, but also about developing as a person.

“Pupils are encouraged to take advantage of the broad range of extra-curricular activities and opportunities for leadership and personal enrichment on offer in school, such as the Duke of Edinburgh Award scheme which the school has run for nearly 20 years.

“It was an extremely successful year for the school’s candidates with a higher percentage achieving their award than in the previous few years and we are looking forward to many more finishing in the near future.”

Since the start of the 2014 academic year, nine pupils have achieved their bronze award.

At a Duke of Edinburgh Presentation Evening held in Halifax, 23 of last year’s Year 11 students were congratulated for their bronze award.

Student Daniel Gallagher was delighted to receive his Silver Award and helped give a presentation at the event about his mountain bike expedition which he undertook with a local Scout group.

Pupils achieving the bronze award include: Sophie Smith. Isabel Stirk, Jonathan Carr, Abigail Phillips, Phoebe Smith, Oliver Spear, Emma Parker, Katherine Green, Callum Mawer; Kloe Wilkinson, Harriet Beaumont, Anna Russell, Lee Baldwin, Arrandeep Gill, Ebony Nothers, Olivia Parkinson, Grace Mcandrew, Laura Fisher. Catherine Lathom-Sha, Paul Davis, Anna Craig, Lydia Chin, Sophie Doherty, James Brezinski, Henry Carter, Holly Marshall, Anna Craig, Haashim Akhtar Sophie Godlington, Helen Brown, Emily Haigh-Jacobs, Ellie Foggo.